Enniskillen Castle is beautifully situated next to a narrow crossing point on the River Erne. Guarding one of the few passes into Ulster, it has remained strategically important throughout its history.
Hugh ‘The Hospitable Maguire’, part of the ruling Gaelic Maguires, is credited with founding Enniskillen Castle around 600 years ago, some time in the 1420s. The earliest mention of the Castle is in the Annals of Ulster in 1439. It became a focus of Irish resistance to the English and was besieged in 1593/4.
Enniskillen Castle remained a Maguire Stronghold until the end of the 16th century. In the early 17th century, Captain (later Sir) William Cole was appointed Constable of the Castle and the site was rebuilt to include the iconic Watergate.
In the late eighteenth century, Enniskillen Castle developed as a military barracks, seeing further buildings on site. In the later half of the 20th century, the Castle became the centre for two Museums, Fermanagh County Museum and The Inniskillings Museum.